Northbank Heritage Trail
Port improvements in 1932 included the widening of the Yarra and the closing of the entrance into Little Dock (originally New Dock, then Spencer Dock). This occurred due to the building of the Spencer Street Bridge, just to the east. Little Dock was used by local sailing vessels from 1854 to 1930 and was convenient to the metropolitan fish markets.
In 1978 the Port of Melbourne Authority was authorized by government to construct, maintain and operate a World Trade Centre (WTC) in the Port of Melbourne. Located between Siddeley Street and the wharf north bank, it is interesting to note that despite the port infrastructure having shifted entirely downstream, this connection with maritime trade in the CBD continues.
Opened in the 1983, the WTC is an example of Brutalist architecture which, in essence features a bold, unadorned structure. Today WTC Wharf is a large waterfront office complex. To the north of the WTC, opposite the junction of Flinders and Siddeley Streets, is a remnant of the red brick Wailing Wall. The Wailing Wall is of great social significance and infamous as the site for recruiting Wharf workers from the end of the nineteenth century through the twentieth century.
Remnant maritime heritage can be seen in the white-pointed mooring bollards used by seafarers to tie up ships awaiting unloading, and at the entrance to the former Little Dock. From this point, the old wharf structure can also be seen at the river line. Art installations along the wharf evoke the maritime heritage of the wharf.
FURTHER READING
IMAGE CREDIT
Former entrance to Little Dock, photographer Liz Rushen 2024

